꒰ Friday 09.30.23 ꒱

Happy mid autumn festival!!! Mine was certainly a happy one.

Before I left for college, I always looked forward to celebrating the midautumn festival with my family every year. I loved visiting our local temple and seeing all the different colorful lanterns being carried around.. I always tried to pick out a cute lantern for myself. the event organizers would give everyone a paper bag filled with candy and I would snack on it throughout the night. And I especially loved the lion dances. (I always wanted to be a lion dancer, but I was always assigned to perform the hat dance instead..)
Since I came to college there are no temples nearby. So I’ve spent the past two mid autumn festivals home alone or doing schoolwork... But luckily this year, my night was spent in the company of my friends instead.
Today I lazed around a bit and made Mayo egg toast for breakfast. I dressed in a polka dot skirt, a lacy blouse, and a bunny earred hooded jacket. I actually didn’t realize it was the mid autumn festival until later, but I guess my rabbit themed outfit is fitting for the moon-celebrating occasion. I went about my classes as usual.. However, my friends were planning to take a train into the city to attend a gallery show and invited me to tag along. Trips into the downtown area are usually planned in advance and take up an entire day, so a spontaneous night on the town sounded like a lot of fun!
Transit ended up taking around two hours. We went to a Japanese restaurant and had dinner together. My friend and I split a tonkatsu ramen, takoyaki, and a melon cream soda float.



We spent a bit of time in the gallery show and some of my friends chatted with other attendees for a bit. I’m still too shy to network lol... A few of us broke off to go buy crepes. We ran into a group of other school friends at the crepe place, one of which was also dressed in a bunny themed outfit! I ordered a strawberry Nutella crepe with vanilla ice cream. It was delicious... Crepes are definitely up there on my list of favorite deserts.



We wandered around and did a bit of window shopping before taking a train home. My friends and I shared a lot of delightful banter on the train ride back! It was such a perfect night...